Where is it Legal to Grow Weed? | Grow Marijuana Legally
Washington D.C. and Colorado made history as the first states to legalize the use of marijuana among adults in 2012. Legalized cannabis is sold in the form of smokable flowers, topicals, edibles, or concentrates. More states in the United States of America have since permitted the use of marijuana for medical and recreational purposes. Presently, 16 states are yet to legalize the use of marijuana. In most states where marijuana use is legal, there are laws or restrictions on its cultivation, especially at-home growing. More states are expected to legalize marijuana use and growth in the future. Read on to discover the states where it is legal to use and grow weed as of 2021.
States That Allow Home Growing
Growing marijuana is the dream for some people. For others, this dream has come true because many states allow growing these plants at home. In states where it is permitted, strict regulations dictate the number of plants that you can grow. Below are the states that allow growing cannabis at home .
In Alaska, cultivating weed at home is permitted for persons above 21 years. Each person is allowed to grow a maximum of 6 plants. The maximum number of weed plants a household can have is 12 with 2 or more adults. If you exceed the plant limit, you are charged a heavy fine. Having over 25 cannabis plants is considered a felony with a 5-year jail term and a $1,000 fine.
The laws of Arizona allow residents and citizens to grow weed at home. The person cultivating it must be an adult aged at least 21 years old, and the limit is 6 plants. Households with at least 2 adults can grow a maximum of 12 cannabis plants. If you grow marijuana in this state, you must select an appropriate growing area  out of reach of minors. The growing space should be enclosed and secured.
In California, growing weed at home is legal for adults aged 21 years and above. They can only grow a maximum of 6 plants for personal use. The plants must be grown in a place that is secured and not easy to see.
Like California, only adults can grow weed at home, and the maximum number of plants  allowed is 6. But after growing weed at home, you cannot sell it to other people.
Illinois allows home cultivation of weed for medical purposes only, and a household can have a maximum of 5 plants. A license is required for home cultivation.
In Maine, adults can grow a maximum of 3 mature weed plants at a given time in their homes. They can have up to 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings.
Massachusetts allows adults to grow 6 or fewer marijuana plants at home.
In Michigan, households can cultivate weed at home, but the number of plants at any given time should not exceed 12.
Adults aged 21 and above can grow weed in their homes in Nevada, but the number of plants must not go beyond 12 per household.
In Oregon, adults who are at least 21 years old can grow weed in their homes but must not have more than 4 plants in a household.
Vermont allows each household to grow a maximum of 2 mature weed plants and 4 immature ones at a time.
District of Columbia
In the District of Columbia, each household can grow up to 3 mature weed plants and 3 immature ones at a time.
Medical cannabis approved but no home growing allowed
Some states allow the use of cannabis for medical reasons, but growing the plants at home is prohibited.
It is illegal to grow weed at home in Alabama, regardless of age. However, people are allowed to use non-psychoactive CBD oil strictly for medical reasons. If one is caught in possession or growing weed for the first time, it may be considered a misdemeanor. But if caught in possession of weed or intent to sell it again, then they are charged with a felony.
In Arkansas, citizens and residents are not allowed to grow weed in their homes. However, weed can be grown for medical uses only, but not in regular households. After being planted and harvested, marijuana is used strictly for medicinal purposes. Marijuana use for medical reasons was legalized on the 8th of November, 2016. If you are caught in possession of weed under 3 ounces, it is considered a misdemeanor in Eureka Springs and Faterreville cities.
The state of Connecticut also allows weed for medical reasons only. However, the residents cannot grow it in their homes. Growing weed is classified as a felony.
In Delaware, medical marijuana is allowed. However, the marijuana grown in the state is not done in homes. Instead, it is cultivated by licensed and authorized persons who harvest it to be used for medical reasons. On the 10th of February, 2012, medical marijuana was suspended by Governor Markell. However, on the 31st of August 2016, he signed House Bill 400 that expanded medical cannabis programs, particularly for persons with terminal health conditions.
In Florida, marijuana can be used for medical reasons, but it cannot be grown at the household level. The weed-grown in this state is for medical use only. Medical weed in Florida was legalized on the 1st of July, 2017. This was after 71% of voters passed Amendment 2.
In Georgia, people can use CBD oil with a concentration of less than 5% THC. Low THC CBD oil use was legalized on the 16th of April 2015 but it is illegal to cultivate the plants in households.
Medical weed was legalized on the 15th of June, 2000, by Governor Benjamin Cayetano in Hawaii. In July 2015, Governor David Ige allowed the presence of medical marijuana dispensaries. One year later, he also signed a bill that expanded medical weed programs. But growing weed at home is still prohibited in Hawaii.
In Indiana, patients can use CBD oil with a concentration of less than 0.3% THC. It is illegal to grow weed, and that has been the case since 1913.
In 2014, CBD oil became legal for use by patients in Iowa. However, it must not exceed a THC concentration of 3%. Cultivating weed plants is a felony.
In 1927, weed was prohibited in Kansas. In 2018, CBD oil was exempted from the definition of a weed. Today, CBD oil is legal in Kansas as long as it has a 0.00% THC concentration. Home cultivation remains illegal.
In 1924, Louisiana prohibited the use of weed but in 2015, medical weed was legalized. Under House Bill 819 of 2020, Governor John Bel Edwards expanded access to weed by allowing doctors to prescribe it for any condition they consider debilitating.
HB 881 legalized the use of medical cannabis in Maryland, but the residents cannot grow it at home at all.
The use of CBD oil was legalized in 2015 in North Carolina but it is illegal to grow weed at home.
In 2014, Governor Nikki Haley signed Julian’s Law following Senate Bill 1035. The law allowed children with severe epilepsy to use CBD oil, but only if prescribed by a doctor. Medical marijuana, specifically Cannabis oil with less than 0.9% THC, is legal, but cultivating it at home is prohibited.
It is illegal to grow weed at home in Texas. However, patients are permitted to use CBD oil. The oil should have a maximum of 0.5% THC and no less than 10% CBD. Governor Greg Abbot legalized the use of CBD oil for intractable epilepsy on the 1st of June, 2015. In 2019, the provision for medical conditions was expanded. Today, CBD oil can be used to manage ALS, Parkinson’s disease, spasticity, autism, terminal cancer, and multiple sclerosis.
It is illegal to cultivate cannabis at home in Utah. In 2014, low-THC cannabis oil was permitted for use in epileptic patients. In March 2018, the laws changed, and cannabis was legalized for use by persons with specific terminal conditions.
In Virginia, CBD oil with less than 5% THC is legal, but the residents cannot grow weed plants at home.
Under the Compassionate Use Act for Medical Cannabis, protection was granted for people to use marijuana for medical reasons. No one is allowed to grow weed at home in West Virginia.
CBD oil use for medical reasons is legal in Wyoming, but home cultivation is prohibited.
No medical, No recreation, No home growing allowed
There is only one state in America where weed is not permitted for recreational or medical or home growing.
In Nebraska, it is illegal to use weed for medical reasons as well as to grow at home. It is also illegal to use weed for recreational purposes. But if you are caught using weed for the first use, then it is decriminalized and you get a $300 fine and mandatory drug education. The second time attracts a fine of $500 and a jail term lasting up to 5 days, while the third attracts a fine of the same amount and a jail term of up to one week.
State Home Growing Rules For Recreational And Medical Cannabis
State rules for home growing of weed vary from one state to another. The basic rules cover the following areas:
Number of Plants Allowed
The states that allow weed growth at home have a limit in the number of mature plants allowed. Usually, the maximum number of weed plants a household can have is 6 for one adult. If there are at least 2 adults in the household, the permitted number can be doubled, that is, 12 plants. Some states allow a maximum of 3 mature cannabis plants at a time.
All states that allow growing weed at home permit it only for adults of 21 years of age. This age is considered mature enough to handle weed responsibly.
Severity of Punishment
Over the years, some states have decriminalized the use of weed for medical or recreational purposes. In some states, breaking the state rules on weed attracts a fine, while others consider it a felony. Due to these differences, every weed grower or user must familiarize themselves with their state laws on weed use and growth and adhere to them.
Growing weed can be done in some American states but not in others. Different states have varying rules surrounding the possession, recreational use, medical use, and home growing of weed. It is crucial to check your state laws before you use weed for pleasure or medical reasons. You must also confirm if you can grow weed plants at home before you decide to grow them. We hope this article has sensitized you about the states where it is legal to grow weed.